Principles

The 10 Principles of Life and Leadership

'Being on Mission' Actions Bring Consequences

Developing Leaders

The ’10 Principles of Life and Leadership’ is a leadership philosophy that has developed successful leaders in sports, business, and personal life. Based off of years of experience training, mentoring, and coaching in all aspects of life, Mark McGregor has created a principle based philosophy to empower anyone to become a leader. The philosophy focuses on an inside-out development, focused on personal growth of the reader. The reader will change how they react and respond to situations based on how the philosophies taught by Mark. Anyone can learn the principles, and the best part is they’re widely used and respected in all personal and professional facets of life.

Leadership Development is an Inside Out Process

Testimonials and Reviews

I finally finished reading your book last weekend and it was great to see how the book has developed since the first version I read quite some time ago. The booked helped me a lot to refresh some of the topics from the session our team and I had with you (“To know and not to do is really not to know”) and also brought back some good memories from the summer camp in Kenora. It’s really amazing to see how time flies – it will be 5 years this summer since I’ve been to your camp!

Stefan Buenemann

“‘Being on Mission’ encapsulates in a very readable story, how the simple messages and tools Mark has developed can really help anybody willing enough to develop, that leadership is a choice and that getting the right work / life balance builds from a set of strong values and a clear vision, both professionally and privately”.

Julian Whitehead EVP Finance, Airbus Defence and Space.

Reading the book was easy – this is a great story and this is so powerfully written that it kept me awake all nights till I finished it. And it goes on with the “where do I start” question – to start with doing the right things first. Thank you for that!

Cheers

Christophe

An Outline of the ’10 Principles of Life and Leadership’

Principles of Leadership

WHAT ARE THE BENEFITS OF THE 10 PRINCIPLES?

The 10 principles of leadership and life help readers life their lives more proactively, and change their lifestyle from the inside out. The principles help create successful leadership thinking in all aspects of life, from sports to business to personal life. The principles also help you become a better person. Teaching you to build long lasting relationships, create win-win situations, and live your life more proactively. The benefits to following the principles are endless, and anyone in any circumstance can apply them.

WHO CAN APPLY AND PRACTICE THE 10 PRINCIPLES?

My methods have been developed working with leaders in business and sports, but have been perfected by making them applicable by anyone. These principle will adjust your perception and have you making new “clicks” and paradigm shifts every day. It will be subtle but soon you’ll be noticing more and more of those “ah-ha!” moments when it comes to problems in your everyday life. The 10 principles apply as much to professional life as they do for personal life, and that makes it suitable for everyone.

PRINCIPLE 1: I AM RESPONSIBLE

‘If it’s going to be, it’s up to me”. This principle is all about taking initiative and feeling like the driver in our lives. This means taking responsibility for our attitude, actions and future. We are responsible for our course of actions through life. It’s important to break the word responsibility into two parts; response, and ability. Responsible people develop the ability to choose their response, making them more of a product of their values and decisions than their moods and conditions. As Tony Robbins says, “your past in not your future”

PRINCIPLE 2: I CLARIFY MY VALUES

Values are what matters most in your life, and you must use that clarity to make decisions and to determine your course of actions. What this means is that high performance leaders have taken time to reflect and think deeply about their lives. They listen to themselves. Your core values are like guidelines that help you be consistent and live with integrity.

PRINCIPLE 3: I HAVE A VISION

People without clear vision struggle to definite priorities. They don’t feel a sense of passion or a sense of purpose. Each day is ‘spent’ but not fully invested. Many people sell themselves short. Research shows that only 3-7% of people set written goals and they achieve approximately 70% of these goals. A clear vision motivates you, gets you out of bed early, and makes you feel a strong sense of passion.

PRINCIPLE 4: I LIVE MY MISSION

If principles 1, 2 and 3 are internalized and lived, then principle 4 – ‘living the mission’ – becomes automatic. It is also called the principle of personal discipline. Each of us gets a gift of 168 hours a week, and as we all know we can’t manage time. We can only manage ourselves, and our energy. The principle of personal management involves organizing and managing time and events according to the personal priorities identified in principles 2 and 3. Pareto’s law states that 80% of the desired results flow from a few (20%) ‘high leverage activities’. To ‘leverage’ our time, we should give less attention to activities that are urgent but unimportant and devote more time to those things that are important but not necessarily urgent.

PRINCIPLE 5: I STRIVE FOR LIFE BALANCE

Life Balance is an ongoing circle of energy. In order to live life to the fullest, we need a balance and we need to get energy from ourselves and others. Therefore, we have to concentrate on getting and keeping this balance – between our personal needs and the needs of others; between professional and private life; between the various relationships; between short and long term perspectives. As in Aesop’s fable, the Goose and the Golden Egg, the farmer in his attempt to be efficient became grossly ineffective; he destroyed his capability for getting desired results. This happens to many of my clients when they lose life balance.

PRINCIPLE 6: I GIVE AND TAKE

“I give and take” focuses on mutual respect and mutual benefit. The give and take mentality is the principle of interpersonal relationships. This is all about working for new solutions (cooperatively). It means that you have a commitment to explore all opportunities until a fair solution is reached or that you make no deal at all. It involves having high expectations for a good end-result for both parties. For sales people and negotiators it is critical to have this abundance mentality. How can we make the pie bigger for both of us?

PRINCIPLE 7: I FOCUS ON EMPATHY

The key to building any relationship is one-to-one communication and true understanding. Listening with empathy is the key-toll for top coaches, sales people, and leaders. Doctors diagnose before they prescribe; top sales people assess needs before they sell solutions; coaches seek to understand before they try to be understood. At that point of true understanding, professional coaches then help others to set goals and take actions. This trust will lead you to success. The greatest human need is to be understood. This coaching principle is the most powerful way to support and lead others. People need to articulate their situation. It helps people get clarity and take action. “Don’t be interesting – be interested” – Dutch banker.

PRINCIPLE 8: I BELIEVE IN INVOLVEMENT AND DIVERSITY

The essence of this principle is shown when a leader runs an excellent brainstorming/team-problem-solving session. It is an art and a science. The secret is to make the people identify and solve the problems. The team moves towards oneness with clarity and consensus. It takes hard work as people listen, reflect, respond, contribute, and cooperate. Through this involvement process, people take ownership, challenge each other and then commit. They ‘buy-in’ because they are fully involved. In the end, this principle helps to get results.

PRINCIPLE 9: I MAKE RELATIONSHIP DEPOSITS

Building relationships is all about spending one-to-one time with people and creating a feeling of trust. To gain true closeness and trust, we must work hard at small things that build relationships. We must live principle 6, and give and take. We must live principle 7, focusing on empathy. And we must live principle 8, focusing on involvement and diversity to show our respect. Living these principles help us make deposits in the relationship-account. To make the deposits, we need to do the small things for other people. We must believe that we can proactively improve any relationship.

PRINCIPLE 10: I RE-ENERGIZE WEEKLY

Without this personal discipline to re-energize or rechange, people definitely begin to lose vitality, focus, and commitment. Picture in your mind a blank flipchart page with a a long line going across from left to right. On the left side is the word death and on the right side the word vitality/optimal health. We all are located somewhere on this continuum. In my seminars I ask people what the world ‘healthy’ means. High performance people know that being healthy includes mental and physical activity. They take care of their bodies with exercise, and their mind with stimulation. Being healthy is being proactive, and being reactive isn’t.

Optimal Leadership and Life Balance Line

10 Principles Lifeline

Leadership Principles

Die Entwicklung von Führungskräften und Führung

Die 10 Prinzipien des Lebens und der Führung 'ist eine Führungsphilosophie, die verwendet wurde, um erfolgreiche Führungskräfte in Sport und Wirtschaft zu entwickeln. Es basiert auf einem Ganzpersonenmodell und hat sie sowohl beruflich als auch persönlich beeinflusst. Basierend auf meiner langjährigen Erfahrung in Schulungen, Mentoring und Coaching in allen Lebensbereichen habe ich eine prinzipienbasierte Philosophie entwickelt, um alle zu befähigen, eine bessere Führungskraft zu werden. Die Philosophie konzentriert sich auf die Entwicklung von innen nach außen und auf das Persönliche. Jeder kann die Prinzipien lernen und leben und das Beste daran ist, dass sie universell und zeitlos sind.

Was sind die Vorteile der 10 Prinzipien?

 

Die 10 Prinzipien von Führung und Leben helfen den Teilnehmern, ihr Leben proaktiver zu leben und ihre Gewohnheiten und ihren Lebensstil von innen nach außen zu ändern, was zu nachhaltigen Veränderungen führt. Die Prinzipien helfen Ihnen auch, eine effektivere Person und Führungskraft zu werden und die Person zu werden, die Sie sein sollten. Die Prinzipien helfen Ihnen, langfristige Beziehungen aufzubauen, Win-Win-Lösungen zu schaffen und Ihr Leben vollständiger zu leben.

PRINZIP 1: Ich bin verantwortlich

"Wenn es sein wird, liegt es an mir". Bei diesem Prinzip geht es darum, Initiative zu ergreifen und sich als Fahrer in unserem eigenen Leben zu fühlen. Dies bedeutet, Verantwortung für unsere Haltung, unser Handeln und unsere Zukunft zu übernehmen. Wir sind verantwortlich für unser Vorgehen im Leben. Es ist wichtig, das Wort Verantwortung in zwei Teile zu teilen. Antwort und Fähigkeit. Wir haben die Möglichkeit, unsere eigene Zukunft zu wählen und zu gestalten. Wie Tony Robbins sagt, "Ihre Vergangenheit in nicht Ihrer Zukunft", müssen wir die Verantwortung für unsere Zukunft übernehmen.

PRINZIP 2: Ich erkläre meine Werte

Wenn Sie darüber nachdenken, was in Ihrem Leben am wichtigsten ist, reflektieren und klären Sie hoffentlich Ihre Werte. Sie brauchen diese Klarheit, um Entscheidungen zu treffen und Ihre Vision zu kreieren. Die meisten Führungskräfte haben sich Zeit genommen, um über ihr Leben nachzudenken. Ihre Grundwerte sind wie Richtlinien, die ihnen helfen, konsistent zu sein und mit Integrität zu leben.

PRINZIP 3: Ich habe eine Vision

Menschen ohne klare Vision haben Schwierigkeiten, Prioritäten zu definieren. Sie fühlen kein Gefühl von Leidenschaft oder Sinn. Jeder Tag wird "ausgegeben", aber nicht vollständig investiert. Viele Leute verkaufen sich kurz. Untersuchungen zeigen, dass nur 3-7% der Menschen schriftliche Ziele setzen und von diesen ungefähr 70% dieser Ziele erreicht werden. Eine klare Vision motiviert Sie, bringt Sie früh aus dem Bett und gibt Ihnen ein besseres Gefühl für Sinn und Zweck.

PRINZIP 4: Ich lebe meine Mission

Wenn die Prinzipien 1, 2 und 3 verinnerlicht und gelebt werden, wird Prinzip 4 - „Ich lebe meine Mission“ - automatisch. Es wird auch das Prinzip der persönlichen Disziplin genannt. Jeder von uns bekommt ein Geschenk von 168 Stunden pro Woche und wir müssen es basierend auf unserer Vision und unseren Werten ausführen. Dieses Prinzip des persönlichen Managements beinhaltet das Organisieren und Verwalten von Zeit und Ereignissen gemäß unseren persönlichen Prioritäten. Das Pareto-Gesetz besagt, dass 80% der gewünschten Ergebnisse aus wenigen (20%) Aktivitäten mit hohem Verschuldungsgrad resultieren. Um unsere Zeit zu nutzen, müssen wir zuerst konsequent die richtigen Dinge tun, basierend auf unserer Vision und unseren Werten, und Nein zu dem sagen, was am wenigsten wichtig ist. Wir sollten Aktivitäten, die dringend, aber unwichtig sind, weniger Aufmerksamkeit schenken und mehr Zeit für die Dinge verwenden, die wichtig, aber nicht unbedingt dringend sind.

PRINZIP 5: Ich strebe nach Lebensbalance

Life Balance ist ein kontinuierlicher Energiekreislauf. Dieses Prinzip kann auch als Glücksprinzip bezeichnet werden, weil Menschen, die ausgeglichen sind, glücklich sind. Um das Leben in vollen Zügen genießen zu können, brauchen wir ein Gleichgewicht und Energie von uns und anderen. Deshalb müssen wir uns darauf konzentrieren, dieses Gleichgewicht zu erreichen und zu halten - zwischen unseren persönlichen Bedürfnissen und den Bedürfnissen anderer; zwischen beruflichem und privatem Leben; zwischen den verschiedenen Beziehungen; zwischen kurz- und langfristigen Perspektiven.

PRINZIP 6: Ich gebe und nehme

"Ich gebe und nehme" konzentriert sich auf gegenseitigen Respekt und gegenseitigen Nutzen. Es ist das Prinzip, dass gute Unterhändler und gute Verkäufer leben. Hier geht es darum, (kooperativ) für neue Lösungen zu arbeiten. Dies bedeutet, dass Sie verpflichtet sind, alle Möglichkeiten zu erkunden, bis eine faire Lösung gefunden ist, oder dass Sie überhaupt keine Einigung erzielen. Es beinhaltet hohe Erwartungen an ein gutes Endergebnis für beide Parteien. Für Verkäufer und Verhandlungsführer ist es wichtig, diese Überflussmentalität zu haben. Wie können wir den Kuchen für uns beide größer machen?

PRINZIP 7: Ich konzentriere mich auf die Empathie

Der Schlüssel zum Aufbau einer Beziehung ist Eins-zu-Eins-Kommunikation und echtes Verständnis. Mit Empathie zuzuhören ist die Hauptlast für Top-Trainer, Verkäufer und Führungskräfte. Ärzte diagnostizieren, bevor sie verschreiben; Top-Verkäufer beurteilen den Bedarf, bevor sie Lösungen verkaufen. Trainer versuchen zu verstehen, bevor sie versuchen, verstanden zu werden. An diesem Punkt des wahren Verständnisses helfen professionelle Trainer anderen, Ziele zu setzen und Maßnahmen zu ergreifen. Dieses Vertrauen wird Sie zum Erfolg führen. Das größte menschliche Bedürfnis ist zu verstehen. Dieses Coaching-Prinzip ist der mächtigste Weg, andere zu unterstützen und zu führen. Die Menschen müssen ihre Situation artikulieren. Es hilft den Menschen, Klarheit zu erlangen und Maßnahmen zu ergreifen. "Sei nicht interessant - sei interessiert" - niederländischer Bankier.

PRINZIP 8: Ich glaube an Beteiligung und Vielfalt

Die Essenz dieses Prinzips wird gezeigt, wenn ein Leiter eine ausgezeichnete Brainstorming- / Team-Problemlösungssitzung durchführt. Es ist eine Kunst und eine Wissenschaft. Das Geheimnis besteht darin, die Menschen dazu zu bringen, die Probleme zu identifizieren und zu lösen. Das Team bewegt sich mit Klarheit und Konsens in Richtung Einheit. Es erfordert harte Arbeit, wenn Menschen zuhören, reflektieren, reagieren, Beiträge leisten und zusammenarbeiten. Durch diesen Einbeziehungsprozess übernehmen die Menschen Verantwortung, fordern sich gegenseitig heraus und verpflichten sich dann. Sie "kaufen sich ein", weil sie voll involviert sind. Letztendlich hilft dieses Prinzip, Ergebnisse zu erzielen.

PRINZIP 9: Ich mache Einzahlungen in Beziehung

Beim Aufbau von Beziehungen geht es darum, eins zu eins mit Menschen zu verbringen und ein Gefühl des Vertrauens zu schaffen. Um echte Nähe und Vertrauen zu gewinnen, müssen wir hart an kleinen Dingen arbeiten, die Beziehungen aufbauen. Wir müssen Prinzip 6 leben und geben und nehmen. Wir müssen Prinzip 7 leben und uns auf Empathie konzentrieren. Und wir müssen Prinzip 8 leben und uns auf Engagement und Vielfalt konzentrieren, um unseren Respekt zu zeigen. Das Leben nach diesen Grundsätzen hilft uns, Einzahlungen auf das Beziehungskonto zu tätigen. Um die Einzahlungen zu tätigen, müssen wir die kleinen Dinge für andere Menschen tun. Wir müssen glauben, dass wir jede Beziehung proaktiv verbessern können.

PRINZIP 10: ICH ENERGISIERE WÖCHENTLICH

Ohne diese persönliche Disziplin, um neue Energie zu tanken oder sich zu verändern, verlieren die Menschen definitiv an Vitalität, Konzentration und Engagement. Stellen Sie sich eine leere Flipchart-Seite mit einer langen Linie vor, die von links nach rechts verläuft. Auf der linken Seite steht das Wort Tod und auf der rechten Seite das Wort Vitalität / optimale Gesundheit. Wir alle befinden uns irgendwo auf diesem Kontinuum. In meinen Seminaren frage ich die Menschen, was die Welt "gesund" bedeutet. Leistungsstarke Menschen wissen, dass Gesundheit geistige und körperliche Aktivität umfasst. Sie kümmern sich mit Bewegung um ihren Körper und ihren Geist mit Stimulation. Gesund sein heißt proaktiv sein und reaktiv sein nicht.